Sidebar Widgets


Maureen Graham
Commission Secretary
(805) 967-7111


Airport Commission


In 1929, a committee was formed by the Chamber of Commerce to choose a site for a permanent commercial airport. After considerable study, the current site was chosen. As a result of lobbying in Washington, the federal government helped Santa Barbara's dream of an airport to materialize. In February 1941 the local electorate approved a $149,000 bond issue for the purchase of the land with construction beginning soon thereafter. It was at this time that an Airport Commission was formed.


General Functions

Advises City Council regarding the following:

  • Selection and appointment of an Airport Director.
  • Terms and conditions of leases, contracts and agreements pertaining to operation of the Airport.
  • Rules and regulations related to operation and maintenance of the Airport, including the fixing of rates and charges related to operation of the Airport.
  • Preparation of development plans, financial plans and budget for the Airport.

To learn even more about the Airport Commission visit the City of Santa Barbara website.

Airport Commissioners

  • Dennis Houghton, Chair
  • Dan Glaeser, Vice Chair
  • Craig Arcuri
  • Topaz Grabman
  • Levi Maaia
  • Bruce Miller
  • Cassandra Reed


Airport Commission meets on the third Wednesday of each month at 6:00 pm, unless otherwise noted on the schedule.

Airport Commission meetings are held in person and streamed live, check the current agenda for the login information.